A graphene battery cell just ran 489 charge and discharge cycles without losing any measurable performance, verified by an independent US testing lab rather than the company’s own claims. Zoom out from any single stock this week and the broader data tells its own story: US solar capacity just crossed a real threshold, enough installed to power more than 50 million homes.
GMG’s G®CELLS Graphene Battery Hits 489 Charge Cycles With No Measurable Performance Loss
Graphene Manufacturing Group Ltd. (TSXV: GMG, OTCQX: GMGMF) said on September 9 that its 1 Ah G®CELLS completed 489 charge-and-discharge cycles with no measurable performance reduction, with testing conducted by the Battery Innovation Center of Indiana under GMG’s Joint Development Agreement with Rio Tinto. Each cell was fully charged and discharged in six minutes, a 10C rate. Under the same test profile, a benchmark Lithium Titanate Oxide cell, a chemistry known for durability, declined to 86% of its original capacity after just 64 cycles.
GMG CEO and Managing Director Craig Nicol is set to discuss the results, along with several other recent developments, at a live fireside chat hosted by the KE Report on September 17. Those developments include the August 24 launch of G® FLUID, a patent-pending graphene water-based cooling additive for data center and industrial cooling circuits that showed roughly 20% higher heat transfer and up to 87% antimicrobial performance in preliminary and independent lab testing, and a new dedicated Asia-Pacific sales team announced September 8, covering India, South Korea, Japan, and Singapore.
None of this is commercial-scale yet. GMG has not disclosed a timeline for moving G® CELLS from tested cells to customer samples or commercial production, and the cycling data, while independently tested, covers a single 1 Ah cell format rather than the larger formats commercial applications would require.
Industry Context: US Solar Capacity Reaches Enough to Power 50 Million Homes
New data from the Solar Energy Industries Association and Wood Mackenzie’s latest US Solar Market Insight report shows the US installed 11.4 GW of new solar capacity in the second quarter of 2026, a 45% jump year-over-year, pushing total installed capacity to a level the industry says can generate enough electricity for more than 50 million homes, over a third of all US households. Solar and battery storage together made up 70% of all new US power capacity added in the first half of 2026.
Separately, the US Energy Information Administration’s latest Short-Term Energy Outlook projects total US electricity consumption will grow 2% in both 2026 and 2027, reaching record levels, driven largely by commercial-sector demand from data centers. EIA projects solar generation will grow 21% in 2026 and another 18% in 2027 to help meet that demand, alongside smaller increases in wind, natural gas, and continued declines in coal generation.
GMG: Forward-Looking FAQ
Not yet. The test covers a single 1 Ah cell format under controlled lab conditions; GMG has not disclosed a timeline for scaling to larger commercial cell formats or moving from tested cells to customer samples.
It funds and structures the underlying research and independent testing, including the Battery Innovation Center of Indiana’s role in this cycling data, but it is a development partnership rather than a supply, offtake, or manufacturing agreement.
Sources
Editorial Disclosure
This roundup is based entirely on publicly available information including press releases, third-party market reporting, and government and industry data. Securities discussed: Graphene Manufacturing Group Ltd. (TSXV: GMG, OTCQX: GMGMF). aktiego.com has not received any compensation from any company mentioned, their management, investor relations representatives, or any third party, and no staff member or principal of aktiego.com holds a position in any security mentioned as of publication.
GMG: cycling data covers a single 1 Ah test cell; no timeline disclosed for commercial-scale production.
The Industry Context section above is sourced to US government (EIA) and industry trade (SEIA/Wood Mackenzie) data as reported by Columbus Free Press, and carries no ticker; it is included as background only.
These are speculative investments carrying significant risk including potential total loss of capital. Coverage on aktiego.com is provided for informational and educational purposes only. aktiego.com is not a registered investment advisor. Nothing in this article constitutes financial, investment, or professional advice. Readers are encouraged to conduct their own due diligence and consult a qualified financial advisor before making any investment decisions. For more information please see our full DISCLAIMER.











